Good Bye America

KPEACE:

I’ve started to do the pre travel “I’m a little crazy thing”. A little anxious.  Always running around doing errands, whining about how my arm is in pain. Being nervous about how many hours I will be on a plane (sitting down in a confined space next to someone I don’t know for that many hours is my worst nightmare). Thinking about how I have to survive without my friends and Sorority and school for the next three months in a country where they don’t speak my language. Avoiding packing like it’s the plague, but also stressing about all the packing I have to do.  Today’s potential procrastinator: driving to LA to go to the Getty and Ikea (obviously an appropriate time to look for furniture for my apartment I will move into in four months).

So here goes my last post from America.  On Tuesday I fly to Lima, Peru for two months and then to Argentina for one month. I’ve been talking about this “trip” since last summer.  But had no real plans, nothing organized.  And then Tuesday I got my Peru confirmation and yesterday my Argentina confirmation.  Booked my flight and realized I’M LEAVING  THIS COMING TUESDAY. I went to the travel doctor on Thursday. As you can see, I am really pushing things to the last minute. Probably also contributing to the crazy factor. Let me tell you a little bit about that appointment.

I had done the CDC research, printed my vaccine records, travel itinerary etc.  I felt prepared for the appointment, I simply needed a yellow fever shot.  I had been to DR early last year and figured I had dealt with the vaccines needed for places south of here. Oh how I was wrong.  Three shots and two prescriptions later I was a bit freaked out.  She started the travel anxiety. Travel crazy. I HATE NEEDLES. I mean really HATE.

I walk in and she starts going over all the things I could be exposed to, suggested shots, prescriptions I should bring etc. She actually recommends a total of 7 shots, but no way was I going to do that.  One of the shots she recommends is the Rabies shot.  She then proceeds to explain all of these really scary things and how you can actually contract it in multiple ways, not just through a dog bite. And mentions the fact that if not treated, it is always fatal.  I hastily agree that I should have the shot.  Then she looks at my departure date and says, “Oh well, you’re leaving too soon.  I actually can’t give you the shot.” UM WHAT? Way to totally freak me out.  And then the nurse continues to say, “If you get bit by a feral dog, or think you may have come in contact with rabies, you have you 12-24 hours to get to the hospital.”  WOW THANKS. All I can say is it’s a damn good thing I don’t like animals. Especially dogs.

Then she begins discussing the Hepatitis shots.  Which I thankfully have all three of.  She shares this piece of information with me: you can get Hepatitis B from a MANICURE. Is this a joke? I could get rabies and die, and I also can’t get manicures.  Well then.

I relinquish my iPhone on Tuesday. And I’m not mad about it. I need a breather.

Also in my travel insurance, my accidental death is covered.  Great.

Leave a Reply

